Genealogy 101

Fact or Fact?!

We’ve all heard those crazy family stories.  You know the ones I’m talking about.  The crazy stores of an ancestor that you know can’t possibly be true.  What if I told you that story was true?  You would probably think I was crazy too, huh?

giphy

Okay, I’ll admit, I don’t know if all your family stories are true or not, but what I do know is that somewhere in that story is some truth.  I know you’ve heard the saying, “where there’s smoke, there’s fire”.  Well, the same can be said for genealogy and family stories.  Somewhere along the way, that story was told.  Maybe the facts got twisted along the way, but it is still a real story about your real family.

Maybe I’ve confused you now.  Let me give you an example.  From an early age my Grandfather would tell me a story about how he pushed an Indian off the Mackinac Bridge in Michigan.  Yes, this falls into the category of “crazy family story”.  For years, I brushed it off as nothing but pure fiction.  (If you know anything about the Mackinac Bridge, you know why).  Come to find out, there was a bit of truth in that story.  No, my Grandfather did commit a crime by pushing someone off a bridge, but he did work on the Mackinac Bridge.  He helped to install the elevators on the bridge back in the late 1950s.

 

giphy (1)

The moral of this story is to not be so quick to dismiss family folklore at just that, a bunch of untruths.  If you look close enough, you might just find a nugget of truth to bring your ancestor back to life.

 

giphy (2)

Leave a Reply

